top of page
Search

Mary Knew the Place to Be

I personally have always found it easier to be a Martha rather then a Mary(Luke 10:38-42).

I would actually say that’s just naturally who I have been for the majority of my life, sometimes to the point of being filled with anxiety because there is just so much to get accomplished. Over the past couple of months the Lord has been drawing me into a place of rest and teaching me what it looks like to be a Mary. To say this was hard at first is an understatement. “What about the dishes, the piled up laundry, the (you fill in the blank)” would be my constant inner dialogue with God, but consistently and gently He would draw me in to spending time with Him. Side note: Our Abba Father is so patient and loving. It constantly astounds me. See Mary knew the place to be and it was at the feet of Jesus, looking up and listening to His every word... “The Lord answered her, “Martha, my beloved Martha. Why are you upset and troubled, pulled away by all these many distractions? Are they really that important? Mary has discovered the one thing most important by choosing to sit at my feet. She is undistracted, and I won’t take this privilege from her.” Over the years as a Martha I have missed so much intimate time with the Father, so much peace and love He desires to lavish on me, because I was distracted and I chose to do what I thought was important over sitting with Him. I have found and sweetly learned that choosing to sit with Abba, uninterrupted on a daily basis changes my heart, my mind and my outlook on the day. For me I have to do this first thing in the morning, 5am people, FIVE AM!!! Who would have known?! I for sure would not have called that one a year ago. I have learned to become very in-tune with the many many distractions that come up in our minds and throughout our days puts to keep us away from spending time with God. Some of these distractions aren’t bad, they are good, but I’ve learned that choosing time to sit at the feet of Jesus is BETTER. Be encouraged today knowing Abba Father is ALWAYS drawing you to sit at His feet. He desires to lavish you with His peace, love, grace and kindness.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page