top of page
Search

Speaking In Public Anyone?

Confession... I’ve hated speaking in front of people my entire life. I would avoid any situation where I had to answer questions in class, do announcements, even speaking up in small group settings to share my thoughts. Silly right?! This fear had a huge grip on my life and stopped me from speaking up for years, even until recently.

See I think we too often rely on our strengths in life and I’m not saying strengths are bad. God gifted us in certain areas that are crazy amazing and are there to bless us and others around us, but I believe that we need to look at areas of fear or doubt, where we might think we are “weak” and ask God if He wants us to step in towards that. “But he answered me, “My grace is always more than enough for you, and my power finds its full expression through your weakness.” So I will celebrate my weaknesses, for when I’m weak I sense more deeply the mighty power of Christ living in me. So I’m not defeated by my weakness, but delighted! For when I feel my weakness and endure mistreatment—when I’m surrounded with troubles on every side and face persecution because of my love for Christ—I am made yet stronger. For my weakness becomes a portal to God’s power.” ‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭12:9-10‬ ‭TPT‬‬ I feel we need to press more into HOW we can lean on Jesus when we are weak. Where in our life does He wants us to depend on His strength and not ours? How can we daily be relying on Him? It’s THEN that He gets the praise and the honor. I want more of that, don’t you? I know by agreeing with our fears we lose out on the opportunity of working alongside Jesus and the calling He has on our life.15 years ago the Lord told me I was gonna speak... I said, NO, because I was terrified. Ten years went by before the Lord to raised that conversation with me again. 10 years! I don’t know about you, but that’s 10 years too many for me living in a lie.

Over the past 5 years I’ve stepping into opportunities to speak, I've been scared every time, but I know I’m not alone and I now do it in Christ’s strength. I want to encourage you... press into those things you are scared of and do them with Jesus!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page